Private Profiles

I know this topic has been discussed in the past but it has come up again. I am an Administrator of a group but I often get membership requests from people with private profiles. I see no reason to approve their membership in the group. I don't know what benefit these people receive by being a part of a group that they can't participate in. Does anyone have any ideas why it makes sense to have a private profile and to join groups that you really can't be a part of? For what reason should I approve of these membership requests?

This topic was edited
RE: Private Profiles

Your Question:
For what reason should I approve of these membership requests?
Your Answer:
I see no reason to approve their membership in the group.
It seems pretty simple. Asked and answered.

Are you really willing to bend the rules and give exemptions to those that do not meet the current qualifications to be a member of your group?
Your group, your rules.

This post was edited

I moderate groups on this site as well as others. The main reason I restrict membership is to validate that people are truly interested in the topics of the group. I judge this by what they have in their profiles. If their profiles are blank or private I have no way of knowing they're actually the type of person who's interested in the group and now someone who would cause problems.
I notice a lot of the nudist groups on sites like Facebook that have problems like getting posts reported and having the group closed are those that are open to the public. There's always going to be people who believe it's their jobs to police the internet and report things that offend THEM when those who are interested in the topics aren't being harmed.

This post was edited

Your Question:For what reason should I approve of these membership requests?
Your Answer:
I see no reason to approve their membership in the group.
It seems pretty simple. Asked and answered.