RE:Single Men

Like your common sense and down to earth approach. Yes, take a good book, just be yourself and relax. Usually, fair minded people will just accept you for who you are unless you start behaving in some pervy manner. If no-one talks to you all afternoon, relax and enjoy the peace anyway. People are naturally curious and someone usually starts a conversation. If not, enjoy the views, the fresh air and that book!

This post was edited
ritRE:Single Men

I have had women start start start up a conversation about lots of things.Once I was reading a book and listening to Patsy Cline and a woman set down to enjoy my music.I was reading her favorite author and music.We talked for a long time.

This post was edited

I have had some of the same experiences that you have. Many of the random friend requests that I have received are from gay men. Occasionally, the random request is listed as a couple. Then I find that they are both bi and all I see are multiple pages of men in their friends list. Today, I received a request from a man that had 363 pages of friends .
My first intention on TN was to friend only people I have met. Then, I realized that I was limiting the number of people that I wanted to follow. There are people in the groups that I belong to that I have requested as friends. I have been turned down by some because I am a single male. On TN I find it much more difficult to break the single male barrier.
I have only been to a few beaches. While at the beach I have kept to my self. Making friends was not my priority.