Some notes on technique

Hi all. I notice not much activity in this group, and thought I might try to spark discussion. My take has always been that Tantra in general is a highly misunderstood concept, and is often lifted from its true context and applied in ways that make it so much "less than" what it can be. The word often gets connected almost automatically to "tantric sex" for example. And while this is not exactly "wrong," per se, as touch, sensuality, and eros can be integral to the experience, I always find myself eager to point-out how much is missed by pushing that aspect to the front and center of the practice.

I'm not an expert, certainly; I'm a curious explorer. I'm a trained CMT, and have practiced in several different styles, including those that are somewhat experimental in nature, and involve more active movement. My touchstone technique, however, is Esalen, which emphasizes a sort of coordinated approach to bringing the subject's whole being into balance through empathetic touch and guided movement. As part of this training, and also as part of my own experience, what I've learned is that integration and patience are the key elements in Tantra, and Tantric massage.