"Experts", "authorities" and otherwise opinionated people here on TN

I've been coming here for many years now (to my great shame lol!), and from time to time a self-proclaimed "authority" on all things nudist comes in and schools us "ignoramuses" on what nudist should be and shouldn't be about. I call them the nudism "SMEs."

It's an interesting thing; for someone to think their understanding of nudism is superior to others'. As if there was just one way to practice nudism.

Whenever I read "opinionated grand pronouncements", such as
- Clothing-optional resorts are BAD for nudism, or
- Nude-mandatory resorts are BAD for nudism, or
- Any kind of resort is BAD for nudism.
- One-eyed, one-legged dwarfs are BAD for nudism
I always wonder exactly where that is coming from. "Did you get kicked out or refused entry to a resort? " "Did someone tell your wife she had to be naked in the pool area or leave?" "Did a one-eyed, one-legged midget harass you at a resort?"
It often appears to me that there is some personal "beef" behind the "strong opinion." But what does that have to do with the rest of us?

But getting back to nudist "SME's." One of my nudist mentors would have qualified herself as a nudist SME. Amongst her many beliefs/values (and with all due respect) were that nudist women should sit in modest, ladylike fashion; and that shaving the pubes was in invitation for gawkers to look. So a woman who sat with her legs open and was shaven was basically an exhibitionist, and not being a nudist; in her book. How was sharing that "strong opinion" helpful to anyone?

Obviously, there is no such thing as a nudist SME, because there is not just "one nudist way." Personal preferences are exactly that. Personal. Not universal.