Scars

I know it is not nice to stare at others. It can be a bit un-nerving if you are the one being stared at. On this site there has been talk about not staring at body parts. But let's face it our eyes are attracted by what's not normal.

If I see a scar on someone I will most likely want to hear the story about it. After all there is a happy ending the person with the scar is still here to tell the story.

My scar came about when I was a freshman in high school. I was casting parts with lead (before it was a problem) for a science project and the pot of molten metal spilled down my leg and on my foot. My sock held it against my foot. The leg of my pants pulled away from my leg. I had burns down my leg, but only second degree. The burn on my foot was third degree. When the doctor pulled my sock off a chunk of my foot came off with it. I got to see one of my bones and it was not broken. The doctor said I may not be able to walk so a stood up and walked out of the office. That burn took about 4 months to heal. We kept it covered with petroleum jelly to get it to heal from the inside out.

Any other opinions?

Bob

This topic was edited
RE: Scars

and not necessarily a, "What's that?" type of question.My typical modus operandi is something like...
I see you're a survivor of something significant ?
The answer dictates whatever comes next.

This post was edited

Our scars are just the roadmap to who we are now.

This post was edited

I have some very significant scarring around my right ankle, due to a series of incidents involving in this order a horse, an arson incedent and a un-looked after dog. Because I live in a place where the sun is so strong, I do have to cover the scaring in sun-block when I am wearing shorts or less (read always), so to make things worse I have a large amount of bright white cream slavered up my leg fro ankle to half way up the shin bone.